2011 Lancaster, PA


The Second Annual $5000 Beard Team USA National Beard and Moustache Championships was held on October 8, 2011 at the Clipper Magazine Stadium, in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

Competition took place in five categories, including moustache, partial beard, full beard groomed, full beard natural, and freestyle. A total of $5000 ($1000 per category) in cash was awarded to the winners, with the first place winners taking home $600 each, second best $300, and third place $100.

Lancaster is well known for its Amish community that has been growing beards for America in the surrounding area for nearly 300 years. Participants in the Nationals had a unique chance to experience Amish culture as part of the Nationals Weekend.



The complete results are set forth below.

Note regarding scoring: In the final judging, each judge ranked his/her top three contestants from the finalists selected earlier. Each first-place vote was worth 5 points, each second place vote was worth 3 points, and each third place vote was worth 1 point.

Moustache Category

First Place ($600): Patrick Gorman, 10 points
Second Place ($300): Benjamin Juergens, 10 points
(The judges selected Gorman over Jurgens in the tiebreak.)
Third Place ($100): Glen Moore, 6 points

Other finalists:
Sam Holcombe, 6 points
Taylor Weldon, 6 points
(The judges selected Moore over Holcombe and Weldon in the three-way tie for third place.)
Daniel Lawlor, 5 points
Steve Scarpa, 1 point
Detleff Steinhoefel, 1 point
Paul DeLeone
Matyas Kovach

Youngest Competitor

Chance Rix, age 16, Brownsville, Kentucky

Partial Beard Category

First Place ($600): Toot Joslin, 18 points
Second Place ($300): Bill Mitchell, 14 points
Third Place ($100): Nate Johnson, 5 points

Other finalists:
Michael Schrader: 4 points
Kevin Demarest, 2 points
Joe Blossom, 1 point
Ryan Messer, 1 point
Eric Moberg
Chris Noe

Full Beard Categories


First Place ($600): John Myatt, 14 points
Second Place ($300): Burke T. Kenny, 11 points
Third Place ($100): Doug Renfro, 6 points

Other Finalists:
Benjamin Whitney, 6 points
(The judges selected Renfro over Whitney in the tiebreak.)
Rafael Diaz, 3 points
Blair Johnson, 3 points
Joseph Camacho, 1 point
Jeff Roth, 1 point
John Benedict
Maximo Garcia
Gary Faulkner
Jeb Sturmer
Marq Vigilio

Full Beard Natural

First Place ($600): John Burgess, 13 points
Second Place ($300): Bryan Nelson, 12 points
Third Place ($100): Neil Moherman, 12 points
(The judges chose Nelson over Moherman in the tiebreak.)

Other finalists: Rick Angood, 3 points
Al Skipper, 3 points
George Scripture, 1 point
Aarne Bielefeldt
Dave Grams
Trevor Cranmer
Bob Gallagher
Thomas Gerdes
Dan Hudy
Alan Kelly
Geoff Kershaw
Myk O'Connor
PJ Rhymeswithsausage
Andrew Shuler


First Place ($600): Jonathan Rice, 13 points
Second Place ($300): Thomas (Maurice) Smith (Blurton), 10 points
Third Place ($100): Matt Bischoff, 6 points

Other finalists:
John Buckler, 5 points
Brian Quien, 5 points
Andy Smith, 5 points
Gandhi Jones, 1 point
Bert Mayer